Which of the Following Muscles is the Prime Mover for Inhalation?

Several muscles are prime movers for inhalation. These include the Rectus abdominis, the omohyoid, and the thyrohyoid muscles. However, there are many other muscles that are also involved. It is important to remember that the primary bronchi and the Phrenic nerves are also involved in inhalation.
Internal intercostal muscles

During the expiration phase of the respiratory cycle, internal intercostal muscles are active. These muscles exploit physical mechanics to help expand the rib cage and increase activity when air is expelled from the lungs. In addition to enhancing breathing, they also keep the ribs from separating.

The intercostal muscles are grouped into 11 muscle trios. The external intercostals are located between the ribs and assist forced inspirium, while the internal intercostals are deep to the innermost intercostals.

They are divided by thin fascia. Each intercostal has a neurovascular bundle that traverses the intercostal tunnel.

The innermost intercostals relax when the lungs expand, while the external intercostals are active during elastic recoil. The third dorsal external intercostal is most active earlier in inspiration. However, it is not known if the neural drive to parasternal intercostals is graded across the interspaces.
Omohyoid and thyrohyoid muscles

During a swallow, the hyoid bone is moved anteriorly and posteriorly to allow for intake. This is accomplished by a series of muscles, including the suprahyoid, geniohyoid, and thyrohyoid. These muscles are also responsible for depressing the larynx, which allows for swallowing. They are known as extrinsic muscles, and their failure may lead to dysphagia.

We evaluated the EMG activity of these muscles in a pair of animal models. Firstly, we examined the geniohyoid muscle in an isolated pharyngeal swallow. We found two peaks of activity, which are associated with a period of jaw opening and another forward movement of the hyoid later in the swallow.

We then compared the geniohyoid and thyrohyoid muscles in decerebrate animals with rhythmic oral activity. The relative timings of these two muscles were comparable. However, there was a slightly earlier response to hemispheres in the geniohyoid activity.
Rectus abdominis

Known as the “six pack” abs, rectus abdominis is the main muscle of the abdomen. It runs from the ribs to the front of the pelvis. It acts to flex the spinal column and to tense the anterior wall of the abdomen. It also helps to bring the pelvis forward.

The anterior abdominal wall is made of skin and fascia. It includes muscles such as rectus abdominis, internal obliques, external obliques, and transversus abdominis. These muscles help to protect the abdominal organs from injury and keep the body upright. The lumbar spine and thoracic spine are also supported by these muscles.

The internal oblique muscles form the middle layer of the abdominal wall. They are situated on top of the external oblique muscles. The internal oblique muscles act alongside the external oblique to provide the trunk with lateral flexion and trunk rotation.
Phrenic nerves

Despite its small size, the phrenic nerve is one of the prime movers for inhalation. It controls the diaphragm, which is a large, dome-shaped muscle. The signals from the phrenic nerve cause the diaphragm to contract and expand, providing room for the lungs to breathe.

The phrenic nerve is a mixed nerve that contains motor, sensory, and sympathetic fibers. It is made up of a right and left phrenic nerve, each of which receives its contributions from C3 through C5. The phrenic nerve provides motor innervation to the diaphragm, and it is responsible for the flattening of the dome-shaped diaphragm. It also controls the central tendon aspect of the diaphragm.

The phrenic nerve can be damaged by a number of different factors, including surgery, trauma, and neurological disease. These injuries can lead to the loss of the connection between the phrenic nerve and the diaphragm. Symptoms that may indicate a phrenic nerve injury include unexplained shortness of breath, anxiety, and fatigue.
Primary bronchi

Among the respiratory systems of air-breathing vertebrates, bronchi are the airways through which inspired air is absorbed and transported to the alveoli. In mammals, the primary bronchi bifurcate into two main branches. These two main bronchi receive inspired air from the larynx and pass on to the tiny alveolar ducts, which terminate in alveoli. These ducts are made up of simple squamous epithelium, which allows the rapid diffusion of oxygen and carbon dioxide.

Each lung is a pair of lobes separated by a mediastinum. check out this great article from Budget Hauling Inc. are attached to the heart and circulatory system through the arteries, arterioles, venules, and capillaries. They are enclosed in a double-layered serous membrane, the visceral pleura, which is firmly adhered to the surface of the lung.

The primary bronchi form smaller passageways called bronchioles, which are associated with several alveolar ducts. Each bronchiole develops into 5 or 6 alveolar sacs. https://www.google.com/maps?cid=14619863757946435306 are lined with cilia, which filter harmful substances.

Budget Hauling Inc.
3429 Freedom Park Dr # 9, North Highlands, CA 95660
(916) 618-2193